Home » Latest News » Tracey Romans Memorial Scratch Racing at National Blvd on 12th May 24

Tracey Romans Memorial Scratch Racing at National Blvd on 12th May 24

posted in: Latest News

On a perfect Mothers Day Sunday morning just over 50 riders across grades A through F took to National Boulevard for some great racing under blue skies and mild conditions ideal for criterium racing.

A and B grade in particular featured super close sprint finishes that were decided on the line.

For this race all entry fees are to be directed to  an Ovarian Cancer Research charity  and therefore no prize money was awarded however 1st & 2nd place medals and a ‘One tough Lady’ trophy was awarded to the standout women riders of the day.   We were also honoured to have Tracey’s husband Jeff Romans on hand to say a few words about Tracey who past away in 2015 from ovarian cancer and present the ladies awards.

Rob Moore from Cat1 also kindly donated some of his new kit to a number of podium riders and indicated his club store is open until this Friday for the next order to be placed. There’s also a new winter jersey that has been added to the available stock and comes highly recommended that members may wish to consider. Check out the latest Northern kit available for ordering here:  https://cat1.com.au/product-category/team-stores/northern-cycling-2023-24/

Trek Coburg 9/64-74 Gaffney St  also kindly donated a number of gift vouchers that were handed to the podium ladies so please consider dropping by if needing a bike service or shopping for a new Trek bike and mention Northern.

Thanks as usual to all the volunteers and marshals who work behind the scenes to make these races run in a smooth and safe fashion.

Congrats to all todays winners and place getters

A Grade

1st Place – Fuad Nasir.  2nd Place – Garth Hircoe. 3rd Place – Matt Carmichael


B grade

1st Place – Glen Grbesa. 2nd Place – John Hiatt. 3rd Place  Grant Harvey


C Grade

1st Place – Michael Heath. 2nd Place – Xavier Coppok. 3rd Place  Kathryn Kennedy


D Grade

1st Place  Neil Maurer. 2nd Place – John Short. 3rd Place – Jame Stuart


E Grade

1st Place – Sandra Prosenica. 2nd Place – Henryk Herbec. 3rd Place – Jake Jodlowski (not present)


F Grade 

1st Place – Ian Bishop. 2nd Place – Theo Prosenica. 3rd Place – Luis Laguna


Ladies Winners (Left to Right)

Kathryn Kennedy  – One Tough Lady Trophy & C Grade 1st lady over the line medal

Stephanie Young- C Grade 2nd lady over the line medal (4th place)

Irena Rakhimova – D Grade 1st lady over the line medal (5th place)

Sandra Prosenica – E Grade 1st place & E Grade 1st lady over the line

Full results https://results.sporthive.com/events/PC2608071