Home » Latest News » Ian Bishop becomes a Life Member

Ian Bishop becomes a Life Member

posted in: Latest News

1996 Club Champion and member of 27 years, Ian Bishop, was made a life member of Northern Cycling at last night’s Presentation Night at the Abruzzo Club in Brunswick.

Guest speaker, Laurie Venn, told us about his career as a cycling pro, including his time racing in Belgium with the great Eddie Merckx.

Men’s Club Champion for 2019 is Glen O’Rourke and Women’s Club Champion is Allison Watt.

Trophies and age champion medals were presented to:
Nick Nomikos – Merle Jamieson Memorial Handicap
Mark Seddon – Chooka’s Wheelrace
Craig Harvey – 2018 Best Club Person
Phil Tehan – 2019 Best Club Person
Liam Oliver – Harry and Mary Tams Most Improved Rider
Allison Watt – Harry and Mary Tams Most Improved Female Rider
Stephen Maheras – Handicap Club Champion
Meredith Kelly – Criterium Female Champion
Mark Seddon – Criterium Male Champion
Mark Seddon – Age Champ 35-39 years
Scott Blade, Kellie Murphy – Age Champs 40-44
Glen O’Rourke, Raelene Lesniowska – Age Champs 45-49
Wayne Brown – Age Champ 50-54
Brian Gray – Age Champ 55-59
John McKinnon – Age Champ 60-64
Trevor Redman – Age Champ 65-69
George Goodrope – Age Champ 70-74
Tommy Gray – Age Champ 75-79
Luis Laguna – Age Champ 80-84

Fran Medina, who the women’s aggregrate award at the Tour de Metro series against Eastern, takes home the series trophy to look after until the 2020 event.

Thanks to our sponsors – Nick Nomikos from Top Tech Panels, Bob Miller from Flite Helmets, Michael Borowski from Gate Opening Systems and Troy Jordan from Cycle House, whose ongoing generosity and support enables us to provide a terrific race program year round. Thanks also to Vince, Jo, Ian, Tony and the committee for their tireless work in keeping the club running and ahead of the game in the veterans cycling sector.

Congratulations to all winners and good luck to all members racing in the state road championships this weekend.